Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Blog Spotlight: Aphex Nation: Blog





When I think fearless fashion, I instantly think Versace, Marc Jacobs, Rihanna, and Eeli from the Aphex Nation: Blog. This girl from Wellington, New Zealnd is a stylish girl that doesnt care about what people think of her, nor what the trends are. She dresses in what she feels is comfortable and what she feels comfortable in. She's been recognized by TheSupermelon.com as having Real Style. And I completely agree. She has her own style, in every sense of it. She is raw, New Zelandish, eccentric fashion. Check her out here. The interview with Supermelon here.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Blog Spotlight: All This Happiness



Today I will be featuring All This Happiness, a quirky blog that helps me bask in all it's happinness. The blog's author, Katie is, as described by herself, "A twenty-something who is very excited to be able to use the phrase 'twenty-something' and have it apply to her." Her blog makes me enjoy the weirdest and simplest things like boater hats and fuzzy bedroom lighting. She also gives great tips for Beauty and Fashion needs. She will inspire you to be couragous in styling yourself, and she has gorgeous pin curls. Check her out here.


Monday, May 18, 2009

Blog Spotlight: Pretty Exquisite

Am starting a new feature, where I write about all the blogs I follow. The first on my list will be Emmy's Pretty Exquisite blog. This witty 16-year-old girl really is exquisite. Her keen eye on current fashion and her almost daily exceprts concerning school make me laugh and crave some fashion pieces. She does few outfit posts, but doesnt dissapoint. And she's a SINGER! Obviously, I've never heard her sing, but am sure she has a lovely voice. Check her out here. Click.


Friday, May 8, 2009

Ello y'all. I left you readers pending on the bleach experiment. Well, when I went ouside to do that last Sunday, there was no bleach in my laundry room... And with 17 days of school left, am too busy with Finals and worrying about getting all the clothes I need for the Carribean cruise my family is going on in June. So, we'll see.

Also, my attempt at dressing like the cast of 90210 turned out 1387246365 times worse then I thoought; personally, I think I look like a complete idiot. So, am not posting them pics up.

And on this wonderful Friday, I would also like to bring up Faith21. The new plus size line of Forever 21. I am considered plus size because am a size 12. The jeans in Forever 21 dont fit me for SHIITT, and the shirt size Large fits me snugly, so am happy that Faith21 was creeated. And also, THE CLOTHES ARENT UGLY! YAY! Clothes for bigger people are always uglier than clothes for skinnier people. Am glad that someone is taking iniative. And, also, Forever 21 isnt telling people its ok to be overweight, but their giving choices to young girls who try, but take more time than others. Personally, I ahte my size, but I know how to work it. Doesnt mean I want to stay this size forever, I've recently lost 20 pounds so am trying, but meanwhile this is a nice alternative. Here are some pics:








:D LAURA!

Friday, May 1, 2009

Thursday, April 30, 2009

The whole 90210 thing is a little harder then i thought it would be. And not necessarily because its complicated, but because its too easy. I want to do something more complicated.
I mean COME ON, those are just t-shirts and jeans with some nice white Keds.


BUT BUT BUT I just found this picture.

There we go. Shannon Doherty's outfit is suprisingly modern. I would probably choose to channel her character, because she has the best clothes and its all pretty easy to wear without having to wear clothes from the actual 90s.

I can wear the outfit she has in this last photograph with American Apparel tights and an American Apparel Dress.



Lets see when an oufit post is coming up. And i bought the maxi dress. It IS AWESOMME! lol

Friday, April 24, 2009

Am going to start off this post by saying, I hate maxi dresses. I have never liked them. And every summer, I try to find one, but I never like the prints. And if I like the print, it doesn't look right on me, am too short (5'4)! But I have finally found an affordable and nice maxi dress that looks good on me.

Forever 21 Boho Paisley Maxi Dress 22.80

I have also found a nice flannel shirt, although it may seem a little redneck-ish. Ha ha. Its red, white, and blue; but it's really really nice.

Urban Outfitters BDG Plaid Boyfriend Buttondown 48.00

And, of course, another obsession of mineat the moment: BLEACH JEANS. Although I haven't found an affordable nice one. So am trying to make it myself. Pics of that experiment will be up next time.

http://www.chictopia.com/casualfriday18
http://www.taistoisoisbeau.com/blog/2009/02/07/decarnins-distressed-jeans-rock-chic-and-fabolous-this-spring/

And this is my dream outfit. A really nice flower dress with a really nice skinny, leather belt. It's the perfect spring/summer outfit (through my eyes)!

Ruche Victorian Tea Pot Dress 38.99
Urban Outfitters Skinny Leather Belt 20.00


Also, thanks to a comment, am looking for pieces that look like the former 90210. Hopefully, I can accomplish that loook and put up an outfit post, possibly tommorow or tonight. We'll see.

Good Day,
Laura

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

I have decided to completely go all out on this blog and talk about 99% fashion and 1% me. :D

So, something I've been seeing alot is heroin chic, very 90s looks. It was very baggy on bottom and tight on top.



I think it looks a whole lot like the old Alexander Wang styles.



But recently, were diggin deeper into the 90s fashion but more into the genre of grunge.
Grunge to me is Seatle, Nirvana, Kurt Cobain, flannel, and dirty boots.


Kinda like Soundgarden.


Or Kurt Cobain.


Heres some grunge-inspired street style:













Thursday, April 2, 2009

Twilight is a good book, I'll admit. Not necessarily well-written, but Stephenie Meyer really put everything in there that will grab the attention of teenage girls and guys. There is action, love, and vampires. No one cares much for the writing though. But the movie, it wasn't that great. Robert Pattinson is really a handsome guy, but he isn't Edward. He just isn't. And Kristen Stewart's performance was weak and dissapointing. I love how she acts, but Twilight was really not her best. The guy that played Jasper, I really felt bad for him. That expression made him look real ugly and he really is the joke of the movie. ALice, real cute, but she shouldn't act, she should dance. Emmet, it was the actors first big role. That's sad. Carlisle looks like a nazi. Esme was on Grey's Anatomy. James had an orgasm. Their wasn't enough Jacob. Jessica and Angela were real annoying. Bella was extremely whiney. Just a bad movie overall. Stephenie Meyer really just got lucky that the first one to read the book was a teenage girl and not a critic, because a crtitic would've ripped her apart. Just imagine if that would've happened; the movie wouldn't have ever been made, and all the actors in the movie would've been making actual careers. I will be able to say 'I hate Edward' without people attacking me and the obssesed people would've been obsessed with something else. What a happy thought. :D

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Eh. Just came back from Mardi Gras. It was very fun. I saw Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons and The Village People live. This Saturday, we plan on going again to see NeYo and on March 27 to see Boys Like Girls. :)

Laura

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Am going to Mardi Gras at Universal Studios tommorow. Am skipping school to go to Orlando. Am such a horrible person. And we got a season pass so I can go again and again for the year. I sometimes feel bad for people that live far from Florida or California. I mean, I can go to DisneyWorld whenever I want, its only 3 hours away. It baffles me to know that people have not gone to Disney since I'm so used to it. I've been going since I was 5. And we go at least one time every year. Oh well.

Good day!
Laura

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Would you ever...

go to school drunk/high?
defile your best friend?
throw a water bottle at your best friends face, on purpose?
punch your best friend in the face, on purpose?
let her cry?
let her get angry?
let her stand up to you and punch you back?
let her talk shit in the hall?
punch her in the face, again?
let a teacher seperate you guys?
ruin a friendship?
go to school drunk/high?

My Vice President just did all that. Not to me of course, am not her best friend. But Daniela is. And its sad that she allowed weed and alcohol get in the way of their friendship. And of her power. Am so dissapointed in her, although I always knew there was something wrong with her...

And right now am sitting next to her, but completely ignoring her. I feel a bit bad, but what is there to say? She ruined herself.


Anyways, I finally made my deviantart.com account. The link is. Go to it!

Followers